skip to main content


Alabama Third District Congressman Mike Rogers recently toured the Chambers County Career Technical Center, guided by Principal Ken Sealy, who explained the significance of each course study provided by the facility. Shown above are, from left, Congressman Rogers, Chambers County School Superintendent Dr. Kelli Hodge, and CCCTC Principal Ken Sealy.


LaFAYETTE – During a local stop on August 13, Alabama Third District Congressman Mike Rogers was given a tour of the Chambers County Career Technical Center in LaFayette, where more than 500 area high school and middle school students attend classes. The Congressman visited various sections of the tech center campus while Principal Ken Sealy explained the significance of each course study provided.


            Currently, instruction is taught in eleven different career fields, including Automotive Technology, Health Science, Industrial Systems and Precision Machining, Pre-Engineering and Teacher Education. The courses are available to both public and private school students in Chambers County.


            “Earlier this year, that collaborative partnership was strengthened by an extension of the Carl D. Perkins Career and Technical Education Act of 2006,” Sealy told Rogers. “Virtually everything we do here hinges on that particular piece of federal legislation.”


The Perkins Act is dedicated to increasing learner access to high-quality career technical education programs of study. With a focus on systems alignment and program improvement, Perkins is critical to insuring that programs are prepared to meet the ever-changing needs of learners and employers.


“I’m impressed by what this facility offers to local students,” said Rogers. “Some of today’s highest paying jobs require specialized technical training above and beyond what a general bachelor’s degree would provide. I think there are still a lot of parents who fail to realize this significance when steering their children toward a college education.”


The Chambers County Career Technical Center first opened for classes in 1977. Its mission is to motivate and prepare students to either enter a post-secondary school academically prepared or the workforce with an industry recognized credential, so as to become productive citizens through academic and technical learning.

By David Bell

ADA Compliance Errors 0